The Ultimate Unbaked Brownies

Oh my gosh!  You guys….this is literally THE best healthy dessert I have ever made or had.  Hands down, bar none, etc etc.  I have had some great healthy desserts in the past.  But, I have had some real clunkers too.  Some recipe makers are so bent on removing ALL the bad stuff, that you are left with something that tastes like cardboard.  This recipe is NOTHING like those!  I promise!  If you love brownies, you are going to love these.  I want to say I guarantee it, but, I know there are some weirdos out there.  LOL!

These unbaked brownies taste like you were mixing up some brownies and then said, “Ah to heck with it, I’m just going to sit down and eat the entire bowl of batter!”  Doesn’t that sound like a little piece of heaven?  I know it does for me.  I follow a blog called Chocolate Covered Katie and I have her daily recipes sent to my email (which you can do with mine to hint hint).  This one showed up yesterday morning.  First, I was like, “YES!  Where have you been all my life?”  Then almost immediately, I thought “Meh, they probably taste like sawdust, or raisins or something.  They probably taste nothing like brownies.”  I’m jaded.  I have been fooled before.  But, I kept thinking about them throughout the day and I knew I had to give them a try.

I am beyond ecstatic that I made them.  These brownies are gooey and sticky.  They’re sweet but not over the top sweet.  They taste decadent.  They seem like you are doing something very bad by eating them.  They literally take about 5 minutes to come together, so they are super duper easy peasy.  PLEASE make these!  Then tell me how amazing you thought they were!

To top it all off, look at these stats!

Nutrition Information Per Brownie – including frosting:

  • Calories: 140
  • Fat: 7g
  • Saturated Fat: 0.8g
  • Carbohydrates: 20g
  • Protein: 3.5g
  • Fiber: 3.5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sugar: 16g (mostly natural sugar from the fruit)

Ingredients

  • 2½ cups loosely packed pitted dates
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts
  • 6 tbsp cacao or cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp water
  • 1/4 + 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cacao or cocoa powder
  • ¼ cup pure maple syrup (or raw agave)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable or melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions

Combine the dates, walnuts, 6 tbsp cocoa, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, water, and salt in a food processor. Process until completely smooth, scraping down as needed – It may seem dry at first, but don’t add any extra water.  Lightly grease an 8-inch square baking pan, or line the pan with parchment or wax paper. Transfer dough to pan and press very firmly until dough is evenly distributed in the pan. In a medium mixing bowl, combine remaining cocoa and vanilla extract with the maple syrup and oil. Stir until mixture forms a paste (this is the frosting). Spread evenly over dough in the baking pan. Refrigerate brownies for at least 2 hours, to set. Leftovers can stay covered at room temperature for a day, or up to 2 weeks in the fridge, or 1-2 months in the freezer.

 

Leave a Reply

