Grilled Maple Sriracha Chicken Kabobs

Well you guys, I guess it is officially grilling season.  It has always seemed a little odd to me that the hottest time of year is the one associated with standing over a fiery heat box with no air conditioning around you.  But, as the phrase my brother hates goes, “It is what it is.”

Tonight’s dinner was brought to you by meat on a stick.  I mean unless you are a vegetarian, who doesn’t love meat on a stick?  I honestly can’t say what it is that is just so fabulous about it.  Something about being on a stick makes you feel like you’re at a carnival.  It’s just fun!

I saw these kabobs on Table for Two‘s blog and they piqued my interest.  Now those who know me, know that I don’t like maple.  YUCK YUCK YUCK.  I can’t stand the smell, the taste, well…anything about it.  When someone makes a bowl of maple oatmeal in the office it literally makes me gag.  And, yet, I always have bottle in my pantry.  See, I like it as a sweetener for some desserts and even some savory dishes, as long as you don’t have to use much.  If you don’t use a lot then you just get sweetness rather than that awful maple flavor.  SCORE!

Neither the hubs nor I got a maple flavor from these kabobs, just a sweetness.  We also didn’t get much heat.  When I make them again, I will add more sriracha.  My chicken marinated for 2 days and was ridiculously moist and flavorful.  But overnight would  be just fine.  Also, the chicken breasts that I have are ENORMOUS so I sliced it into two cutlets before cubing it and cut the marinade in half.  However, I am giving you the original recipe.

IMG_2743

Ingredients:
  • 2 large chicken breasts, cubed
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon sriracha sauce

Instructions:

Place cubed chicken breasts in a large resealable plastic bag. Whisk together soy sauce, maple syrup, and sriracha sauce. Pour over the top of the chicken and massage into the chicken. Marinate for at least 4 hours in the refrigerator.

Once chicken is done marinating, soak wooden skewers in water for 10 minutes. Then skewer the chicken pieces on to the skewer. We had about 6 skewers with maybe 6-7 pieces of chicken on each skewer

Turn your outdoor grill on high (or you can use an indoor grill or your stovetop) and grill chicken until thoroughly cooked through

Leave a Reply

