Black Bean, Andouille Sausage and Collard Stew

On Sunday I got my first good pedicure in months.  If you’ve never had a good one, here are the rules, there should be a salt or sugar scrub, there should be a massage, there should be a callous treatment, there should be wax, there should be cleaning, and painting.  And, the whole things should NEVER take less than 30 minutes.  If your pedicures last less than 30 minutes you are being ripped off.  (yep!  I said it!)  The place across the street from my house is the best place I have ever been and it usually takes more like an hour.

But, I digress…while we were waiting for our pedicure chairs to open up, I was perusing the magazines in the waiting area when I noticed a small maybe 15 page special issue from Better Homes and Gardens.  Every single page was filled with delicious looking recipes that were ALL under 400 calories.  Obviously not wanting to steal the magazine from the salon, I set to work taking pictures of the recipes with my phone.  Tonight’s dinner was one of the recipes I snapped while waiting to have my feet given some much needed TLC!  I seriously could not wait to make this recipe and it did not disappoint.

I love collard greens, my family loves them, my husband’s dad loves them.  They are thick so they have more of a chew than some other greens.  They have a deep rich flavor that I just love.  My husband however, is not a collard green fan.  He eats mine and says they are the best he has ever had (I think because I add a lot of ingredients that most people don’t usually add), but he would still never choose them first if you asked him what he wanted to eat for dinner.  But, after 2 bites of this stew, I asked him for his verdict and he said, “You have discovered the second way to make collard greens good!”  If that’s not high praise, I don’t know what is!

So even if you think you’re not a huge collard fan, maybe give this a try and see if it works for you.  I know it will be tempting because they don’t seem necessary, but, don’t skip the pumpkin seeds.  they add such a wonderful crunch to finish off this dish.  I almost skipped them and I am super glad I didn’t.

*cook’s note: I had to use almost an entire box of chicken broth.  One small can was not enough to simmer all of the collard greens in, so I have made that change in the recipe below

IMG_2692

Ingredients

  • 1
    tablespoon olive oil
  • 4
    3 ounces cooked chicken Andouille sausage links, sliced or cut up
  • 1
    medium onion, cut into thin wedges (1/2 cup)
  • 1
    15 ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2
  • 1
    32 ounce box reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 12
    cups collard greens, stems removed and torn
  • 2
    tablespoons lime juice
  • Salted roasted pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • Lime wedges

Directions

  1. In a very large skillet heat oil over medium heat. Add sausage and onion wedges. Cook and stir over medium heat for 6 to 8 minutes or until browned. Remove mixture from skillet; keep warm.
  2. In the same skillet heat oil over medium heat; add beans and garlic. Cook and stir to heat through. Add broth. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Reduce heat. Boil gently, uncovered, 3 to 4 minutes or until reduced by about half. Gradually add greens, stirring until wilted before adding more. Cook and stir for 8 to 10 minutes or until all of the greens are slightly wilted and tender. Add sausage mixture and lime juice; heat through. Garnish with pepitas and serve with lime wedges.
Leave a Reply

