ZESTY LIME SHRIMP AND AVOCADO SALAD

Hi.  I am addicted to avocados.

I’m sure you have figured that out by now, but, I’m just reminding you.  If you ever walk in my kitchen and there are no avocados, something bad probably happened to me.  So, I was stoked when I saw this recipe on Skinnytaste that reminds me of a fresh ceviche  but with the added bonus of my beloved avocados.  The only difference is that shrimp is cooked with heat instead of acid.

Sometimes you are just craving a salad.  Something chilled and refreshing after a long warm day can really hit the spot.  And, in my book you can never go wrong with shrimp.  Even (most) people who hate seafood, still like shrimp, or at least tolerate it.  I placed the shrimp salad on a bed of mixed greens and the dressing on the shrimp was plenty to not need any extra salad dressing.  I skipped the tomatoes because as far as my husband is concerned, raw tomatoes are of the devil.  It sure would look pretty with some in there though!

IMG_2362

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 limes, juice of
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt, black pepper to taste
  • 1 lb jumbo cooked, peeled shrimp, chopped*
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 1 medium hass avocado, diced (about 5 oz)
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds removed, diced fine
  • 1 tbsp chopped cilantro

Directions:

In a small bowl combine red onion, lime juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Let them marinate at least 5 minutes to mellow the flavor of the onion.

In a large bowl combine chopped shrimp, avocado, tomato, jalapeño. Combine all the ingredients together, add cilantro and gently toss. Adjust salt and pepper to taste.

 

2 thoughts on “ZESTY LIME SHRIMP AND AVOCADO SALAD

Leave a Reply

