BBQ Chicken Burrito Bowls

Ya’ll.  Stop what you’re doing and make these bowls!  Ok well, I mean if you’re at work that might not be the best idea.  But, seriously guys these bowls were so delicious and HUGE!  I actually thought mine was too huge.  If you love Tex Mex like me, you will adore this recipe.  It is fresh, fast, and easy.

I used one huge chicken breast sliced in half to turn it into 2 cutlets.  I cooked them in a skillet over medium high for 4 minutes per side with nothing but salt and pepper.  But, you could sooooo easily use rotisserie chicken or pre-cooked chicken chunks.  You can use your favorite BBQ sauce.  By now, you know that my house loves heat so I used garlic sriracha BBQ sauce from Trader Joe’s.

I adored the freshness of this recipe.  In my photo there is no zucchini because I forgot it in my bowl.  FAIL.  At least I remembered to put it in my bowl for lunch today.  Another great thing about this recipe is that you can switch out the fresh veggies for any veggies that you prefer.  You could add bell peppers, change black beans to kidney or pinto, or you could add mushrooms.  The sky is the limit!  The recipe calls for 1 cup of rice per bowl but I felt like it was a TON of rice so next time I will go with 1/2 a cup.

The recipe came from Budget Bytes.  I love her site because she focuses on food that is not only healthy but also affordable.  Now go make these!

IMG_2311

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cooked chicken breast* $1.50
  • ½ cup BBQ sauce $0.53
  • 4 cups cooked rice $0.88
  • 15oz. can black beans $1.00
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed $0.44
  • 1 small zucchini $0.58
  • 4oz. pepper jack cheese $1.00
  • 2 green onions $0.20
  • 1 small avocado $1.00
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Chop or shred the chicken breast and mix with 2-3 tablespoons of BBQ sauce until the meat is well coated.
  2. Drain and rinse the black beans. Cut the zucchini into small cubes (1/4-1/2″), shred the pepper jack, slice the green onions, and pit and slice the avocado.
  3. To build the bowls, place 1 cup cooked rice in the bottom of each bowl. Divide the chicken, beans, corn, zucchini, shredded cheese, green onions, and avocado slices equally among all four bowls. Drizzle one more tablespoon of BBQ sauce over top and serve, or refrigerate until ready to eat.
Leave a Reply

