Skinny Spinach Chicken Parmesan

I love recipes that take a classic and make it new and fresh again.  When I saw this recipe on I Don’t Go To The Gym, I knew I wanted to give it a try.  Chicken Parm can be a pretty heavy dish.  It is breaded, usually pan fried, and then topped with cheese.  Yikes!  This recipe leaves out the breading and I promise you won’t miss it.  Then it adds delicious healthy spinach.

Now, I enjoy spinach but I don’t like to eat it raw.  Oxalate crystals in spinach make my teeth squeaky when I eat it raw.  The oxalate crystals leak out from spinach as you chew, and these crystals coat the teeth, which results in that gritty feeling.  However, when it is cooked, I don’t have that problem.  Perfect!  This spinach is cooked!

The recipe calls for fresh spinach so that is what I used.  However I’m sure it would work just as well with frozen spinach as long as you wring some of the water out first.  The hubs declared this dish a winner.  I served it with a small weighed portion of spaghetti with some of the extra sauce.

Photo May 07, 5 52 29 PM

Ingredients
16 ounce can of crushed tomatoes
1 tbsp. garlic powder + 1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp. onion powder
1 tbsp. oregano
1 tbsp. parmesan cheese
Pinch of salt & pepper
1 pound of thinly sliced chicken breast
8 ounce of fresh spinach
4 tbsp. part-skim mozzarella cheeseLet’s Get Cooking!
1. In a saucepan, add crushed tomatoes and season with garlic, onion, oregano, Parmesan cheese, salt & pepper.  Bring to a simmer and cook 10 minutes for flavors to combine.
2. Season chicken with salt, pepper and remaining tsp of garlic powder.  Heat grill pan to medium-high heat and cook for 4-5 minutes on each side until cooked through.  Remove chicken and set aside.
3. Add spinach to pan and sauté 2-3 minutes until softened.
4. Add 2 tbsp of sauce to baking dish & layer in chicken, spinach, tomato sauce and a tbsp. of mozzarella cheese to each chicken breast.
5. Broil on low until cheese is melted, brown & bubbly … about 3-4 minutes.
6. Serve up and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

