Rigatoni with Shrimp and Light Pesto

I have an Aerogarden in my kitchen that grows herbs.  I love my little herb garden.  I always have fresh flavors to add to my meals and they smell wonderful.  I’m a paranoid little creature so whenever we go on vacation for more than a couple of days, I like to unplug it.  I don’t think anything would happen with it, but, I’d rather be safe than sorry.  If it were to run out of water while we were gone, I wouldn’t want to risk burning out the motor.  So, pesto is great way for me to use up my basil.

A lot of people have a misconception about pesto and just automatically assume that it is light and healthy.  But, pesto can be full of oil, nuts, and cheese.  It can get very heavy very fast.  When I want pesto, I like to make a very light version.  It tastes great and doesn’t leave me feeling guilty.  You could use this pesto on all kinds of things like chicken, fish, toast, and more.  But, for tonight, it has a date with shrimp!

IMG_1945

Ingredients

  • 1 lb raw peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 2 cups dry rigatoni
  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • 1 packed cup of basil
  • 1 garlic clove (or 2 if you want a lot of garlic)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste.

Boil the pasta according to package directions.  Cook the shrimp in a saute pan on high for 3-4 minutes until pink and set aside.  While the pasta is boiling put all the other ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Mix everything together and serve.  Recipe makes 4 servings.

2 thoughts on “Rigatoni with Shrimp and Light Pesto

Leave a Reply

