Pumpkin Walnut Muffins with Crumble Topping

Pumpkin Muffin

PUMPKIN!!!!  Ok, now that I got that out of my system, I can continue.  Seriously guys, I just love it so much.  I have another pumpkin dinner coming up, so get ready!  LOL!  I made these muffins this weekend, I blinked and they were gone!  No, I didn’t eat them all myself, relax!  So anyhooooo, I needed more.  So yesterday I made another batch!

I kind of Frankensteined a couple of recipes together and then also added my own touches.  The muffin recipe came from For the Love of Cooking‘s blog.  I changed it up by using part sugar and part Splenda to cut calories.  I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and I added a cup and a half of chopped walnuts.  Not only do I love the crunch and nutty flavor, but, I am eating these for breakfast so I wanted to add some protein and healthy fat.

The crumble part of the recipe came from Simply Shellie‘s blog.  In my humble opinion, you can’t go wrong with a crumble topping.  Who can resist that crunchy sugary goodness?  No one I tell you!  It has whole wheat flour and oatmeal in it as well, so it is obviously now a healthy breakfast food!

Make these today, you won’t regret it!  You could also mix them up with some ginger, carrot, or dried fruit!  Get crazy and let me know how it goes!

Pumpkin Walnut Muffins with Crumble Topping

Adapted muffin recipe from For the Love of Cooking

Crumble recipe as it by Simply Shellie

 

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup Splenda or other zero calorie sweetener
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat a muffin tin with cooking spray.

Combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and mix well.

In another bowl, mix with a beater the pumpkin, oil, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, and sugar together until creamy and smooth. Slowly add the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture and mix until just combined.  Divide the batter equally into each muffin cup.

Crumble Topping

  • 2 tbsp butter, softened
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp oats
  • 2 tbsp whole wheat flour

Combine together all the crumble ingredients in a bowl and mix with your fingers until crumbly. Sprinkle evenly on top of the muffin batter.  Place into the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the muffins cool on a rack for a few minutes before serving. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

