One Pan Broccoli-Bacon Mac and Cheese

image2

I don’t know why I put this recipe off for so long.  I first dog-eared it in a Cooking Light Magazine months ago.  I saw it numerous times since then and even though it intrigued me, it just didn’t pull me in enough to get it done.  Well tonight was the night folks!  I finally made it.  And, now I want MORE!  More I tell you!

It is creamy, cheesy, bacony (yes its a word because I say so), and it even has veggies in it!  Wait!  Veggies?  Plural?  Whatchu talkin’ bout Willis?  That’s right, on top of the obvious broccoli, this sneaky dish uses pureed winter squash to add extra creamy texture and depth of flavor without using a pound and a half of cheese!  Genius!

Because it is a one-pot meal, this all came together super quickly and most of the ingredients are pretty cheap.  So I can definitely see myself making it again.

I also have a tip for you tonight.  Do you hate splattery broth/stock boxes?  You go to pour your stock into a measuring cup or pot and you get this obnoxious glug glug thing going that sends your stock splattering all over the place.  SO annoying!  Well next time you have to pour a liquid from a box with a spout, turn your box around and pour the liquid out backwards.  You will think “This is ludicrous.  I feel like a moron.  Why am I doing this???”  But, then you will notice a nice smooth stream of stock without all the splashing and jazz!  Ta-Dah!

IMG_0109

Now get cooking!

One Pan Broccoli-Bacon Mac and Cheese

Ingredients

2 center-cut bacon slices, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups unsalted chicken stock (such as Swanson)
1 cup 1% low-fat milk
1 (10-ounce) package frozen butternut squash puree, thawed
10 ounce uncooked large elbow macaroni
3 cups chopped broccoli florets
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
5 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded and divided (about 1 1/4 cups)

Preparation

1 Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add bacon; cook 4 minutes or until crisp, stirring occasionally. Remove bacon from pan.

2. Remove all but 2 teaspoons bacon drippings from pan. Add garlic to ­drippings in pan; sauté 30 seconds.

3. Add stock, milk, and squash to pan; bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.

4. Add pasta; cover, ­reduce heat, and ­simmer 5 minutes, ­stirring occasionally. Stir in broccoli; cover and cook 3 minutes or until pasta is done and sauce is thickened.

5 Stir in salt, pepper, and 4 ounces cheese. Sprinkle bacon and remaining cheese on top. Cover; let stand 1 minute.

Leave a Reply

