Crockpot Turkey Chili

Holy macaroni!  I have been MIA for a while!  I hope you didn’t miss me too much.  We’ve been really hitting the gym hard lately because I have been trying to blast through the Couch 2 5k program before our vacation where I plan to run my first 5k!  In light of that, we have been having a fair number of crockpot meals so that when we get home from the gym, dinner is ready.

I love a good bowl of chili, no matter what time of year it is.  Chili isn’t just for fall and winter folks!  I totally just threw this together with no recipe.  I wanted some extra protein so I threw a couple of poached eggs on top.  Let me tell you, the poached eggs as a topper were a HUGE hit with the hubster.  They added a creamy richness but with more nutritional value than sour cream or cheese.    Also, you could easily use beef, chicken, sausage, or tofu crumbles instead of turkey!  I hope you try it!

IMG_8858

Crockpot Turkey Chili

1 lb ground turkey

1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 14 oz can of italian style diced tomatoes

1 small can of tomato sauce

1 can of corn drained

1 can of black beans drained and rinsed

1 onion chopped

3 tbs chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp red chili flakes (optional)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions:

Brown and crumble the turkey.  Then put everything in the crockpot, stir, cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

5 thoughts on “Crockpot Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

