Sloppy Joe Pizza

Man oh man I love Sloppy Joe’s.  There is just something so nostalgic about this food to me.  A while back I stumbled across a Sloppy Joe recipe that I love from Ambitious Kitchen.  I love the sweetness in this recipe.  If you wanted it to be spicier, you could always add more hot sauce or more crushed red pepper flakes.

Tonight, I wanted sloppy Joe’s but, I just wasn’t feeling a sandwich.  What else could I do with it?  Then it hit me, PIZZA!  Everything goes well on a pizza!  I used a pre-made organic crust that you just unfurl , top, and bake.  I topped the pizza with 1/2 a cup of shredded mozzarella.  Then, just bake according to your crust instructions.  Mine was 400 degrees for 18 minutes.  I drizzled some extra BBQ sauce on top and of course threw some cilantro on as well!

IMG_8717

INGREDIENTS

1 teaspoons olive oil

1 small onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red pepper, diced

1 pound extra lean ground turkey

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

red pepper flakes, if desired

1 cup (8 oz) tomato sauce

1/2 cup bbq sauce of choice (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s)

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon chili powder

3 tablespoons tomato paste

1 teaspoon Frank’s Hot Sauce or Tabasco

1 tablespoon brown sugar, if desired

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Once oil is shimmering, add red bell pepper, onion and garlic and cook until the onion is tender and garlic is fragrant, about 4 minutes. Transfer the vegetables to a bowl and set aside. Keep heat on and use the same skillet to cook your turkey.

Next add ground turkey to the skillet. Break up the meat and spread it around the pan. Season generously with salt and pepper and cook 8-10 minutes or until the turkey is cooked and no longer pink.

Next stir in tomato sauce, a pinch of red pepper flakes, bbq sauce, Worcestershire, chili powder, tomato paste, and hot sauce to the skillet with the meat. Add in the vegetables and stir to combine. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 15-20 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. If you find the sauce too tangy, add a bit of brown sugar or ketchup.

Next, I followed the instructions on my pizza crust.  With the oven pre-heated to 400 degrees, I topped my crust and stuck the pizza in the oven for 18 minutes!

Leave a Reply

