Grilled Barramundi and Scallions

We are entering a new area here today.  That’s right folks, tonight, I am not sharing a recipe from another site!  Tonight’s dinner was so easy a caveman could do it!  Wait, is that trademarked?  Anyway, seriously, you could make tonight’s dinner in your sleep.  Maybe all you need is the idea or inspiration.  So, here I am to give it to you!

I saw the barramundi fillets in the freezer at Trader Joe’s and couldn’t resist them.  They looked so pretty and thick.  I knew I wanted to keep them super simple.  Then I pondered what to put with them.  If you’re anything like me, you often poke through your pantry and fridge to see what is about to die.  And, by this I mean it is 2 steps from ye olde trash can.  Well tonight those two items were: one leftover Yukon Gold potato that was starting to sprout eyes and some semi-sad looking scallions.  And, thus, dinner was created!

IMG_8704

Grilled Barramundi and Scallions

Ingredients

2 – 4oz Thawed Barramundi fillets

2 tsp olive oil

2 pinches of kosher salt

2 pinches of garlic powder

1 bunch of scallions

2 slices of lemon (optional)

Start by getting your grill screaming hot.  I used an infrared grill.  I cranked that sucker to high and left it to heat up for 20 minutes.  Once your grill is hot, coat your fish with the olive oil, garlic, and salt.  Place the fillets flesh side down on the grill and spread the scallions around the grill.  Set your timer for 3 minutes.  After 3 minutes, flip the fish and scallions and set your timer for another 3 minutes. Place the lemon slice on the fish as garnish. I served this with one mashed potato and steamed broccoli.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Leave a Reply

