Creole BBQ Shrimp and Rice

I had other plans for these shrimp.  But, you know what they say about best laid plans.  Sometimes you get in the kitchen and you just don’t want your planned meal anymore.  Does this happen to anyone else or am I the only one?  I pick something out, I am super excited about it, then right at cooking time, all of the sudden, it doesn’t appeal to me anymore.  Maybe I will make the other recipe another time.

With no backup plan, I went searching and came across creole or cajun BBQ shrimp.  This is a very popular recipe in New Orleans.  The most famous recipe is from Pascal Manale’s.  It includes FOUR sticks of butter AND FOUR sticks of margarine!!  Holy heart attack!

I found this lightened up recipe by She Cooks With Books and decided to give it a shot.  I made my own creole seasoning and I also added a cup of water to the recipe.  Whether you will need the water depends on the saltiness of your creole seasoning.  I needed water to dilute my base, otherwise we would have felt like deer at a salt lick.  I used one more tbs of unsalted butter than she called for because I felt like the sauce needed extra gloss.

Here is She Cooks With Books recipe with my small tweaks.

AdobePhotoshopExpress_2015_07_08_17_52_01

Creole BBQ Shrimp and Rice

1 lb of peeled and deveined 21-30 ct shrimp
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon hot sauce
1 tablespoon creole seasoning
bunch of fresh ground black pepper, say about 1/2 teaspoon if it was packed into a measuring spoon
juice of one lemon
1/2 cup of white wine

1 cup of water if needed

Melt the butter and add the olive oil to a pan on medium high heat. Add the garlic and cook briefly, then add the Worceshestershire sauce and seasoning, and mix. Cook for about 15 minutes adding water and then letting the sauce reduce by half, then add the shrimp. Mix and cook over medium high heat for a minute, then add the lemon juice and the wine. Turn heat to high, keep mixing and cooking until all shrimp are pink. Do NOT overcook. You can serve over brown rice. Top with chopped parsley, if you have it.

Here is the recipe I used to make my Creole seasoning.  Feel free to use store bought if you wish.

Creole Spice Mix

  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 tablespoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon white pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 tablespoons seasoning salt
  1. Mix all ingredients in a glass jar.

  2. Store in the refrigerator to keep the spices fresh.

  3. Shake the jar before using.

Leave a Reply

