Grilled Garlic Dijon Herb Salmon with Roasted Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus Bundles

I don’t know about you but, some nights I just need dinner to come together quickly.  I usually have 3 nights per week when I go to Zumba.  Dinner needs to be done quickly so I can eat in time to get my groove on!  But, just because I want it to be fast doesn’t mean that I want it to be junk.

I love salmon but, I usually end up giving it an Asian flavor so to tonight I was determined to do something different.  I found both of tonight’s recipes over at Skinnytaste, which means I know that they’re going to be light, they’re going to be easy, and they’re going to be delicious!  I changed nothing in the asparagus recipe. I made couple of tiny changes to the salmon but, here is The Skinnytaste original recipe. Mine, which is cut in half, is below!

IMG_8327

Grilled Garlic Dijon Herb Salmon

Servings: 2 • Serving Size: 1 fillet w lemon • Old Points: 5 pt • Points+: 6 pt
Calories:
233.6 • Fat: 7.9 g
Ingredients:

  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp dried Herbs de Provence
  • 1/2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • olive oil spray (I used my misto)
  • 2 (6 oz) wild salmon fillets (if frozen, thaw first)
  • salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 4 lemon wedges for serving

Directions:

Mash the minced garlic with the herbs, vinegar, oil, and Dijon mustard until it becomes a paste. Set aside.

Season salmon with a pinch of salt and fresh pepper. Heat a grill or grill pan over high heat until hot. Spray the pan lightly with oil and reduce the heat to medium-low. Place the salmon on the hot grill pan and cook without moving for 2-3 minutes. 

Turn and cook the other side for an additional 2-3 minutes spooning on half of the garlic herb mustard sauce.

Turn and cook 1 more minute spooning the other side of the fish with remaining sauce. Turn once again and let the fish finish cooking about one more minute.

*Note – My salmon was VERY thin.  I only cooked it 2 minutes per side, then 30 seconds per side with the mustard sauce on it.  It was still well done all the way through, so definitely be sure to adjust your cooking time based on the thickness of your fish.

IMG_8324

Roasted Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus Bundles

Servings:
4 • Serving Size: 1 bundle • Old Points: 1 pt • Points+: 2 pt
Calories:
64.8 • Fat: 2.1 g

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 lb thin asparagus spears, tough ends trimmed
  • extra virgin olive oil spray (I used my misto, lets assume 1/4 tsp)
  • fresh cracked pepper to taste
  • 4 slices (2 oz) thin sliced prosciutto

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°.

Lightly spritz asparagus spears with extra virgin oil. Season with fresh cracked pepper and divide into 4 bundles.

Gather 1/4 of the asparagus and use a slice of prosciutto to wrap each bundle and place on a baking dish seam side down. Repeat with remaining, place on baking dish and bake 12 minutes or until asparagus is tender crisp.

*Note – These were VERY crisp.  If you like your asparagus more tender, I recommend roasting for 14 minutes.

Leave a Reply

