Strawberry Basil Infused Water

image1 (4)

Have I mentioned that it’s hot?  Summer definitely wants us to show her some respect this year.

Hydration is important all year long, but even more so during these hot summer months.  I like water just fine, but, sometimes you get tired of drinking something that tastes like, well…nothing.  Alan and I both love infused water. On our Disney cruises they keep cucumber water in the spa and we look forward to going to drink it while visiting the sauna.  In one of the adult only dining rooms on the cruise, they serve a strawberry basil sorbet and we rave about it every time.  So that gave me an idea.  I have a large basil plant in my kitchen and I STILL had some of those strawberries left.  With those items on hand and a desire for a tasty drink in mind, I went hunting for infused water recipes.  I found exactly what I was looking for over at SkinnyMs.com.

This recipe for Strawberry-Basil Water is so delicious!  It is both sweet and savory at the same time and utterly refreshing.  If you’re looking to up your water intake with something a bit more exciting than plain old water, give it a try!

I followed her recipe pretty closely but, I didn’t count my basil leaves.  I just pinched off a branch with what looked to be 8-10 leaves on it.  I only had 1/2 a pint of strawberries left, which seems plenty strong enough to me.  And, I only used half a lemon.

Strawberry-Basil Water

Ingredients

  • 1/2-1 pint strawberries, sliced
  • 10(ish) fresh basil leaves, torn
  • 1/2-1 lemon, sliced
  • 2 quarts water

Directions

Combine strawberries, basil and lemon in a large pitcher. Add 2 quarts water. Refrigerate at least 3 hours or up to 2 days.

Infused waters are an easy way to add flavor and interest without a lot of extra calories. Try different fruit and herb combinations, like cucumber-mint or lemon-lime.

Leave a Reply

