Skinny Strawberry Muffins

IMG_8224

I have heard people say it time and time again: “Once you stop eating so many sweets, you stop craving them.”  Who are these people?  Can they be my weight loss spirit guides?  Seriously though, even though I usually crave savory foods like burgers, sub sandwiches, and french fries, sometimes you still need a cookie!

My husband is the notorious sweet tooth in our home.  But, ever since I started my weight loss journey, I cannot get enough sweets.  It seems like such a cruel twist of fate to go from hardly ever wanting sweets, to wanting them all the time and people keep telling you that you can’t have them.  Well I say, bologna!  Sweets are not inherently bad in my opinion.  You just have to know what is in them and you need to eat them in moderation.  The only store bought sweets that I tend to buy anymore are Yasso frozen yogurt bars.  These things are HEAVENLY!  If you haven’t tried them yet please do so post haste!  But I digress….

Now when I want sweets, I make them myself.  By making my own treats I get to control what is in them so I don’t have to feel bad about a little indulgence.  Last night I wanted something.  I didn’t know what I wanted except that it needed to be sweet.  After a little rummaging around I realized I needed to use the rest of the strawberries that were leftover from that delicious pasta salad the other night.  And, so, healthy strawberry muffins were born!

I found this recipe on Kitchen Meets Girl and it was a winner.  The only changes that I made were to use Splenda instead of Stevia because Stevia leaves a bad aftertaste in my mouth and to add 1 tbs of vegetable oil to the batter.  Look, I have a rocky past with healthy muffins.  You know what you tend to get with zero oil batters?  You get muffins and cupcakes that stick the muffin liner.  You end up trying to gnaw a muffin off of a wrapper like some sort of animal!  Yeah, like I said, I’ve been burned.  By adding just a splash of oil, you eliminate that issue but still keep the recipe light!  Ta-Da!  These muffins are not overly sweet so if you like super sweet muffins, you can always increase your ratio of sweetener.

Here is Kitchen Meets Girl’s original recipe:

And here is my take:

IMG_8225

Serves: 12 muffins
100 Calories per muffin
Ingredients
  • 2½ cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup strawberry Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ cup Splenda
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1½ cup strawberries, diced, and divided
  • 1 tbs of vegetable oil
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 12 muffin tins with foil liners, or spray REALLY WELL with cooking spray–the oats tend to stick!
  2. Place all of your ingredients (except the strawberries) in a blender or food processor, and blend until oats are smooth.
  3. Pour batter into a medium sized bowl, and fold in your strawberries. Divide remaining ½ cup diced strawberries over the top of each muffin.
  4. Divide batter into each muffin liner or straight into the muffin pan.  Fill the cups full to the top as these muffins don’t rise much at all.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
2 thoughts on “Skinny Strawberry Muffins

  1. What is splenda?
    I loved them.
    They look yumm.
    Fresh Strawberries aint common wher i live. So i will make them as soon as i can get my hands on any.

    Also,i hav an invite for us all.it’s a #WeeklyChallenge for #FoodBlogger to encourage genuine blog appreciation (not just empty likes).
    Please visit http://wp.me/p6c369-10 to participate & know more.
    I hope we get together and do some pleasant reading n blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

