Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie

I have some variation of this smoothie so often that I rarely even think about how I’m making it anymore. The best thing about it is that you can customize it in so many ways. You can add chia seeds, flax, nuts, greens, you name it.

Smoothies can be a deceiving item in a healthy lifestyle. Many people think “smoothie” and they just automatically think “hey it’s good for me!”  But, they can be chock full of calories and even unnecessary fats. So you really have to pay attention to what you’re putting in them.

I never use fruit juice as the liquid in my smoothies. It just isn’t worth the extra calories to me. If you want to add juice to yours by all means go for it but if you’re trying to lose weight definitely try to balance out those fruit juice calories with everything else that you’re putting into your smoothie.

I like to add some extra protein to my smoothies because it helps hold me over for a longer amount of time so that I can make it to lunch without being famished and wanting to eat everything in sight!  So here’s what I whipped up today:

IMG_8203  IMG_8206

Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie

1 banana frozen

1/4 cup mixed berries frozen

1 tbs smooth organic peanut butter

1 cup of 30 calorie almond milk

2 tbs plain nonfat Greek yogurt

Break your banana* into chunks and put everything into the blender. I use a single serving cup that attaches to my ninja system but any blender is fine. Now just pulse until smooth. I don’t add any ice to mine because it is already thick enough and cold enough from the frozen banana. Plus, I don’t like the icy/crunchy texture.

*Make sure you peel your bananas before you freeze them or you will likely never get them peeled. Trust me, I learned the hard way so that you don’t have too. I bring home my entire bunch of bananas and peel all of them right then and place them in a gallon size resealable bag in the freezer.

Calories for this exact smoothie: 250

Leave a Reply

