Pesto Chicken Bake

Yesterday I checked the freezer to see what kind of meat we had available.  We had 2 chicken breasts.  Wow!  Might be time to go shopping.  Yeesh!

I also have an abundance of basil.  We have an aerogarden in our kitchen so we always have fresh herbs.  However, the basil always seems to take over so you have to stay on top of it.  It was officially time to make pesto.  “Real” pesto however, is so full of fat and calories.  So I decided to make skinny pesto.  The best recipe I have found is from Gina over at Skinnytaste!  I didn’t make any changes to her recipe.

Skinny Basil Pesto
Skinnytaste.com
Servings:Serving Size: 1 tbsp • Old Points: 2 pts • Points+: 2 pts
Calories: 86 • Fat: 8.3 g • Protein: 2.3 g • Carb: 0.8 g • Fiber: 0.3 g • Sugar: 0 g
Sodium: 94 mg (without salt)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup basil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 1/2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

In a food processor pulse basil, garlic, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil while pulsing. Store in a sealed container and refrigerate until ready to use or you can freeze this in ziplocks bags to use at a later date.

image

Now, I can make my chicken!  You could certainly use jarred pesto but, your calorie count would definitely change.

I used Gina’s recipe for her Pesto Chicken Bake.  I made a couple of small changes, but I will link to the recipe anyway.

I didn’t have any mozzarella, so I sliced up some mini babybell wheels.  The calorie count stayed the same.  I also only used 2 chicken breasts as Gina’s were much larger than mine.  I weighed them on my kitchen scale to make sure I was using the same weight of chicken as her full recipe.

Skinny Chicken Pesto Bake
Skinnytaste.com
Servings: 4 • Size: 1 piece • Old Points: 6 pts • Points+: 6 pts
Calories: 236 • Fat: 11.5 g • Carbs: 2.5 g • Fiber: 0.5 g • Protein: 28.5 g • Sugar: 0 g
Sodium: 491 mg (without salt)

Ingredients:

  • 2 (16 oz total) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
  • 4 tsp Skinny Basil Pesto
  • 1 medium tomatoes, sliced thin
  • 6 tbsp (1.5 oz) shredded reduced fat mozzarella cheese
  • 2 tsp grated parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

I butterflied my chicken breasts and salt and peppered the insides.  Then I put 1/2 tsp of pesto inside.

image_1

Then I closed the breasts and topped then with another 1/2 tsp of pesto on the outside.

image_2

Now bake the chicken for 15 minutes.  Then pull it out and top it with the tomatoes and both cheeses.

image_3image_4

Pu the chicken back in the oven for another 3-5 minutes until your cheeses are melted.  I measured out and cooked 2 servings of orzo pasta and stirred 1 tbs of skinny pesto into it.  I served the chicken over the orzo.  Total calorie count for the meal was 489 calories!  This meal was EASY and delicious.  Alan isn’t even a tomato fan and he gave it 2 thumbs way way up!  If you’re looking for something quick and easy, but still healthy, definitely give this recipe a try!

image_6

Have you tried it?  Do you have any questions?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

