Peach Pie Overnight Oats

I don’t know about you but, sometimes I like to sleep in.  I don’t want to have to worry about what I’m going to make for breakfast in the morning, and if I have one more granola bar, I might go nuts.  Breakfast can wreak havoc on a healthy eating plan.  All of those hashbrowns, toast, biscuits, pancakes, waffles,and BACON can eat up half your calories before you’ve barely even seen the sun.  In the summer I also struggle to find things that don’t seem too heavy.  I’m not shivering around scraping ice off my windshield in 20 degree weather.  I’m forging out into what can sometimes feel like a tropical rainforest.  So what’s a girl to do?  Make overnight oats!  Overnight oats are easy and can be changed up in so many different ways.  Switch your fruits, switch your nuts and seeds…the possibilities are endless!  You wake up and breakfast is just sitting there all ready for you.  It did all the work while you were sleeping.  Rock on!

10672252_10152714423709948_1126916526111522326_n

Peach Overnight Oats

1 cup rolled (non instant) oatmeal
1 cup milk of choice (I used 30 calorie almond milk)
1 tbs honey or sweetener of choice (I used honey)
Cinnamon – I probably used 3/4 of a tsp because I love cinnamon
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp of vanilla

Mix all of these together in a container, seal it up and stick it in the fridge overnight. In the morning I layered it in a glass with 1/2 a sliced peach and 2 tbs of honey roasted slivered almonds from Trader Joe’s, but any kind of nuts that you like would be fine!

Leave a Reply

